Dutch Republic Agreement

Dutch Republic, officially Republic of the Netherlands, Dutch Republic of Verenigde Nederlanden (1588-1795), a state whose area was approximately that of the current Kingdom of the Netherlands and which reached a position of world power in the seventeenth century. The Republic was composed of the seven northern provinces of the Netherlands that gained independence from Spain from 1568 to 1609, and it was born from the Union of Utrecht (1579), which was supposed to improve the military capabilities of its signatories within the largest Union of the rebel provinces. However, when the southern provinces (later Belgium and Luxembourg) were taken over by Spain, the provinces bound by the Pact of Utrecht became a new independent state. February 1701 – French troops invade the Southern Netherlands. March 19, 1702 – William II dies at Hampton Court, England. May 1702: The War of the Spanish Successions begins. The Dutch Republic, Great Britain, Austria and Prussia declared war on France and Bourbon Spain. October 13, 1702 – The Anglo-Dutch fleet attacks French and Spanish fleets moored in the port of Vigo, Spain. 1704 – Battle of Blenheim – Marlborough defeats French troops. 1706 – Battle of Ramillies. July 1708: French troops conquer Ghent and Bruges. 1713: The Peace of Utrecht ends the War of the Spanish Succession. The public debt reached 128 million guilders.

November 1715 – Austro-Dutch Treaty of Antwerp. The Southern Netherlands was assigned to the emperor and became an «Austrian Netherlands». 1717-1718 – Unrest in Ghent, Antwerp and Brussels due to the high price of bread. Spring 1719 – The government deposes trouble and executes the rulers. 1720s – The accelerated collapse of «rich trades» begins. December 1722 – The Imperial East India Company in the Austrian Netherlands is founded – Ostend Company. 1740 – 1748 – War of the Austrian Succession. April 1747 – The small French army invades the States of Flanders. The invasion was followed by unrest in Middelburg and Zierikzee. Unrest in The Hague. September 1747 – The French conquer Bergen-op-Zoom.

May 1748 – Rioters in Friesland attack residences of tax farmers (bailers) June 1748 – Unrest in Harlingen, Haarlem and Amsterdam. October 22, 1751 William IV, the King of Orania, dies unexpectedly at the age of 40 in The Hague. May 1767 – Franco-Austrian Treaty of Versailles. 1780 – 1784 – Fourth Anglo-Dutch War. 1780 – 1787 – Dutch Patriotic Revolution. April 3, 1784 – The Free Corps Company opens fire on the crowd of Orangemen in Rotterdam, killing four people. August 1786 – Death of Frederick of the Great of Prussia. Frederick William II (1786-1797) became King of Prussia. June 1787 – Princess Wilhelmina, sister of Frederick William II, is arrested by the Gouda Free Corps. September 1787 – The Prussian army marches on The Hague and Amsterdam. . .